Making TShirts for User Group

So first of all – big thanks before I even get started to AstuteGraphics’ Sebastian Bleak who gave me a name for tshirt printer.  And helped get me on the path to making a tshirt for the group. HOWEVER, as soon as I started making the tshirt design to send for an estimate, I started hating our logo design. (yes, I know I made it)

You know how it goes with your User Group logo? Okay – maybe you don’t.  Here’s how it goes.

1. Quick – come up with a name and register your group.
2. Shit – you need a logo for the page.  Um…. type design. okay.  I like Chalet.
3. It’s pretty much okay.  Nobody complains.
4. SEVEN years pass, and the same logo gets a ‘little facelift’ (it only lives online)
5. CRAP. Now I need to look at it on some clothing?

So I sat down to just put it onto a tshirt.  SLAP IT ON.  Front and Center.  Hell, after 7 years – it’s kinda stuck as is… or is it?

STEP 1:  Slap it on – with the URL.  I HATE wearing the URL. gotta take that off.

dmala_shirt_00 dmala_shirt_000

 

STEP 2 : TAKE OFF THE URL

dmala_shirt_01

 

STEP 3: GET RID OF BLACK HOLE

dmala_shirt_02

STEP 4: DOES IT HAVE TO BE THE SAME?

CRAP- Now it looks like it says “DO”.  hmmm… “Do” isn’t a bad sentiment. But it’s DMA-LA (“D” and “LA”)

dmala_shirt_03

STEP 5: DMA – LA
It should look like DA instead of DO.  Now it says “Da” which means ‘Yes’ in Russian.  Konyechna.  And it’s beginning to remind me of the LOOK logo.  The 70s eyeball thing.  I loved that logo.

dmala_shirt_04 dmala_shirt_05

 

STEP 6: What the hell am I doing.  The logo is completely gone.  And who the hell is gonna know what this tshirt means anymore.  Although, I’d be more inclined to wear this tshirt than something that said DIGITAL MEDIA ARTISTS LOS ANGELES across the front.

dmala_shirt_06

 

STEP 7: BUT THE REASON.  The reason we’re making shirts is for exposure, so people will know about the group.  damn.  gotta put the URL back on there.

dmala_shirt_07

Now I hate the “DA” thing.  It’s more NYET than XOROSHO.

dmala_shirt_08

I hate you logo until Infinity.  I made you. I can destroy you.

dmala_shirt_09

 

How do y’all feel about some free pizza instead?

Leave a Reply

